Monsieur Delire

Norwegian label Sofa has just released their first LP (but I haven’t seen it – I was given a download code). Sval torv is the second album by Streifenjunko, a microsound duo between trumpet (Eivind Lønning) and saxophone (Espen Reinertsen). I prefer this opus to their debut CD: this one is more consequential, consistent, and bewitching. That being said, this ain’t easy listneing: each track consists of ultra-delicate, ultra-quiet interventions – threadbare sounds, breath, valve and key clicks. Both musicians are walking on a high wire between dissolving the distinctions between their respective instruments and maintaining their self-identity.